THE St. Louis Speakeasy
It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 2:40 am GMT

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

is dead, long live Royale!
 Post subject: Joining Things?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2014 5:11 pm GMT 

Custom Title: is dead, long live Royale!
What's the procedure you cats and kittens have for jumping in on someone's illegal-liquor-based party? Newbie here, btw.

Ahoy!
 Post subject: Re: Joining Things?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 14, 2014 10:24 pm GMT 

Custom Title: Ahoy!
Hello hello! Things are a bit slow in the forum at the moment, but new faces are always welcome. Allow me to refer you to Arty's FAQ/role-playing guide, where she explains in a thorough and excellent fashion:

Artemis Selene wrote:
Now there are lots of ways to go about getting in the flow of things.

1. Make your own or join in an 'Open' thread in IC. If you look around the IC Discussion forum there are a fair number of threads with things like ((Open))¹ at the end of the title. That means that the thread is looking for players and characters for the plot. What the OP does is establish a setting in which it is open for other people to show up and interact with the OP's character(s).

It's always a good idea to ask before joining a new thread as the OP may have a specific kind of character interaction in mind that they wish to explore. The best thing to do is then PM the OP so the role play itself isn't cluttered up with OOC talk. Though, if you wish to, you can reply to the thread in OOC buy using double parenthesis, (( )), like this: ((May I join?)). Or something to that affect. Around here, a thread is considered closed to more characters/players it if has gone past the first two pages or so. Though many people will still be open to you joining. If it has gone past the first two pages, the best thing to do is to ask to join before you come in and possibly interrupt the flow of the plot.