THE St. Louis Speakeasy
It is currently Tue Jan 23, 2018 4:49 am GMT

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

The Bee's Knees
 Post subject: Does this look like Tracy's style?
PostPosted: Wed Feb 19, 2014 7:47 am GMT 

Custom Title: The Bee's Knees
So I'm a learning hobbyist artist, and the reason I got motivated to draw again was because of Lackadaisy.
Every since then, I've learned a lot by watching loads of tutorials and practicing almost everyday.
So, I've may already have developed my own distinct style, but when it comes to anthropomorphic animals, I really look up to Tracy's style.
I don't know if I may have accidentally stole her style, but whenever I draw anthro cats, it usually looks like this now.
Eh...what do you think?

European! Old! Pretentious!
 Post subject: Re: Does this look like Tracy's style?
PostPosted: Fri Feb 21, 2014 12:08 pm GMT 

Custom Title: European! Old! Pretentious!
It's great you were motivated to practice and improve by looking at the comic- Tracy does indeed produce some rather inspiring and brilliant art.

Regarding your question, that would depend on how you define 'style'. I'd say it's more like character design than artistic style that you've somewhat adopted. The cat looks like Rocky in that he has large eyes, big eyebrows, tabby markings, and a huge grin, plus the general shape of his head is similar.

Edited to add: Maybe it was supposed to be Rocky. In which case, again, I would say you're emulating how Tracy drew him and her character design aspects more than her 'style' necessarily, though I know the two overlap.

The Bee's Knees
PostPosted: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:38 pm GMT 

Custom Title: The Bee's Knees
Graid wrote:
It's great you were motivated to practice and improve by looking at the comic- Tracy does indeed produce some rather inspiring and brilliant art.